Safety of Children - Facility Scheduler Web Links

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Not Planned
The location of where children are gathered within the building should not be visible on a website that is accessible to the general public.  Currently, if I use the calendar link provided by FS to post events on our website, the main location is listed as well as an arrow that provides a list of all other rooms.  For the safety of children, I propose that there be an option to list the rooms for an event as "undisclosed".
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
We have added a Maintenance Calendar, that only our facilities personnel and staff can see.  To advertise our Children's Ministry--we have it on a published calendar with only the event description--not the location.
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes, that is an option.  I am trying to avoid making 2 events for every children's activity - one that shows the rooms (and does not get published) and one that does not show the rooms.  Even if we could get rid of the additional room listing, that would be helpful.  I could make a fake primary room called "undisclosed" that would show up on the public calendar.
Photo of Beth Angerhofer

Beth Angerhofer

  • 18 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I like this idea because it allows you to reserve a room without showing it. That way you still can't double book.
Photo of Rebekah Musick

Rebekah Musick, Sr. Ministry Success Manager/ACS Community Manager

  • 5877 Posts
  • 222 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Jean,

We do understand the concern and the solution Rhonda provided is how we suggest solving the concern. We don't plan to add any additional functionality for this in ACS Facility Scheduler. You shouldn't have to set up two events, just have two calendars. Rhonda, would you mind sharing with Jean how you have this setup? We love when users help each other and thank you.


Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Rebekah,
After talking with Rhonda, I discovered that she does in fact set up 2 events.  So, I again ask ACS to update the software to offer an "undisclosed location" option for published events.
Jean
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
We have our main  "Southcliff" church calendar.  Most of these items are published.  Adult classes and groups show their main location, as well as worship times.  We use our "Maintenance" calendar for additional set ups (tables, chairs, A/V equipment, coffee/water, rolling white board) so that our facilities guys know exactly what we need, but all of this extra set up does not show on our website.  We also use a "Publicity" calendar with bookings such as bulletin, Facebook, website, plasma screens.  Our ministers look over the Publicity calendar each week and prioritize items that need to be presented to the entire congregation in announcement form.  (This has greatly cut down on annoucement time in the service and gives us more time for worship!)  It is not difficult to put these on multiple calendars.  The events can be copied and just select the appropriate calendar.  (I hope this all makes sense!)
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am not clear whether or not you assign a room to the children's activities.  Your first response might imply that you do not - in which case, how do you avoid double booking?
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
We only assign the rooms on the Maintenance Calendar.  (not on the main Church calendar that is published.)
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
For Children's events, that is.
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Next question...  how do you assign a resource (i.e. room location, tables, etc) to your maintenance calendar but not your main calendar?  I know how to add multiple calendars to one event, but I do not understand how to assign resources to one, but not the other, calendar within an event.

BTW - thank you for taking the time to answer my questions!
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
These are two separate events.  Not just a multiple calendar event.  One event with only basic info is on the published calendar.  The other event has all the set up info on the Maintenance calendar which is never published.  Hope this helps.  It seems crazy to set up two events for one, but it really has helped us to have a clean looking calendar on our webpage.
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
okay - setting up 2 events is what I was trying to avoid.  I guess that is not meant to be.  Thank you for your time!
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
I understand, but if you copy the event, then edit it, it really is easy.
Photo of Rebekah Musick

Rebekah Musick, Sr. Ministry Success Manager/ACS Community Manager

  • 5877 Posts
  • 222 Reply Likes
Official Response
Jean,

I'm glad you and Rhonda connected and while we understand the need, adding this additional feature is not planned for ACS Facility Scheduler.  
Photo of Jean Swenson

Jean Swenson

  • 14 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
With all due respect, If you truly understand the need of this from a safety view, that is an unacceptable response. 
Photo of Rhonda Jackson

Rhonda Jackson

  • 27 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
From a publicity standpoint (webpage), we want our Children's activities to show so that parents will know what we have available for their children.  From a safety standpoint, we do NOT want people on the web to know WHERE our children's activities are, unless they are a guest in our building, in which case, one of our Greeters can direct them  and their children to Preschool or Children's Hall.  We've found that the only way (currently) to work around this is to have 2 of the same events.  One public and one private for our maintenance staff to be able to handle all room requests.  At first, it was a bit of a hassle, but once our Assistants got the hang of it, we have all adapted easily and it has been a good fix.  The safety of our children is TOP PRIORITY!