People Merge Cancellation

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
When I am merging duplicate records that are each listed as Combined status for contributions I receive a notification pop up that says: "The record you are trying to merge has a contribution status of Combined. If you wish to move the contribution records to the profile you are keeping please check yes. If you wish to leave the contributions with the spouse of the merged record, please check no. I wanted to do additional research on the donations before I continued with the merge so I clicked on the red X button to exit out of the message. However, instead of canceling the merge, it proceeded to finish the merge but did not tell me if the donations were moved or not. I had a very unhelpful woman at ACS who said she had no idea what I was talking about and told me she had no way of helping. I told her to find someone who could answer the question and thankfully she did. Turns out if you hit the red X instead of yes or no, it defaults to Yes you want the contribtutions to be merged. Instead of defaulting the Red X should allow the user to cancel the requested merge to do further investigation. This software is really not user friendly for non church nonprofits. 
Photo of Rebecca Johnson

Rebecca Johnson

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • annoyed

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Rebekah Musick

Rebekah Musick, Sr. Ministry Success Manager/ACS Community Manager

  • 5877 Posts
  • 222 Reply Likes
Hi Rebecca,

We're glad to hear that you were able to get someone to help answer the question for you. I'm not sure if there is anything additional that we can do at the point of the merge process but we'll certainly ask our developers to see. I know that we do show the Contribution status on the Merge screen before you click Merge - maybe we can show this in a different color so that it sticks out as you're reviewing the two records. I'll post an update once our developers have researched what might coule be done. Thank you for your feedback.