Online Directory - Suppressing Data Capture

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Hi.... When our Parish directory is displayed, users have a option to Print it. They also can select all the data and capture it in a local file. For Security purposes, we cannot allow that. Are there any options to disable these tasks?
Photo of David Crout

David Crout

  • 49 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Rebekah Musick

Rebekah Musick, MCP Sr. Account Mgr/ACS Community Manager

  • 5814 Posts
  • 221 Reply Likes
Hi David,

When you give the members of your parish rights to log into Access ACS and access the online directly, there is a level of trust that the member and the church assume so that they only view the information as needed. There is a separate permission under the Member Login user profile for Export to File that you can set to Deny. This will keep them from being able to download to a file. But there isn't any way to keep them from printing the directory.
Photo of David Crout

David Crout

  • 49 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank You !!
Photo of David Crout

David Crout

  • 49 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi.. I have another question regarding the Online Parish Directory. In order for people to opt to have their information displayed, they need to login in to Access ACS, and make a change to their personal preferences. This works fine for people who are computer savvy.I had written directions on how to do it, we published it in the parish bulletin, and a lot of people could do it.

Where our problem comes in is that we have a HUGE Senior community at our parish. Many of them have difficulties navigating  the computer, so as ACS Admin, I get a lot of request to do it for them.

I do not see any way to do that, other than logging in with their credentials. Since the passwords are masked, I can't log in under their Id.

So, the question is --> As ACS Admin, is their any other option to be able to do this ?

Thanks !!
Photo of Rebekah Musick

Rebekah Musick, MCP Sr. Account Mgr/ACS Community Manager

  • 5814 Posts
  • 221 Reply Likes
Hi David. The only way an Access ACS can change these settings is to create an account for the users, login and make the changes, then you can delete the account.